[QCLUG] Virus in Ubuntu
Arron Lorenz
arronlorenz@gmail.com
Wed, 14 May 2008 20:27:21 -0500
---------------------- multipart/alternative attachment
Thanks guys, I don't want to disappoint but I actually did know that it was
a crappy pop up website. I just enjoyed it... I was making a vague attempt
at being funny by contrasting the win.32 pop up ads (if you look close it's
telling me that I need to enable active-x support.) with the fact that I'm
running Ubuntu. Website's like that are the reason I have the computer over
at my mom's house running Ubuntu also.
I can just hear the phone call... Arron the computer popped up and told me
that it found a bunch of virus' and I payed the $50 that it was asking for
but it doesn't seem to work. Can you come and make the anti-virus program it
just told me to buy work??
Well guys that's all for my jokes today.
Arron
On Wed, May 14, 2008 at 8:22 PM, Mark Riedesel <mriedesel@gmail.com> wrote:
> Yeah, I visited the antivirus-scanner.com site and it did a neat
> little animated virus checker thing and then popped up a list of
> infections, then tried to coax me into downloading a neato exe file
> which is infected with..
>
> *drum roll*
>
> the Downloader.Win32.Fraudload virus!
>
> So, yes, definitely a site to avoid, and no, you're not infected with
> any viruses :-)
>
>
> Mark
>
>
> On Wed, May 14, 2008 at 7:28 PM, Aaron Johnson <acjohnson@pcdomain.com>
> wrote:
> > This just looks like a fake anti-virus pop-up. Nothing more...
> >
> >
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: qclug-bounces@qclug.org [mailto:qclug-bounces@qclug.org] On Behalf
> Of
> > Nick Miller
> > Sent: Wednesday, May 14, 2008 6:21 PM
> > To: qclug@qclug.org
> > Subject: Re: [QCLUG] Virus in Ubuntu
> >
> > How were you able to use a Windows file scanner in Ubuntu? I guess I'm
> > just kind of confused on what exactly is going on. Plus, the virus file
> > had "Win32" in it.
> >
> > Nick
> >
> > Arron Lorenz wrote:
> >> I accedently clicked a link I shouldn't have now I may have a virus....
> >>
> >> I took a screen shot:
> >> http://www.davenportdrivein.com/images/Screenshot.png
> >>
> >> What do you guys think I should do? <mailto:qclug@qclug.org>
> >>
> >> Regards,
> >> Arron
> >>
> >> --
> >> From:
> >> Arron James Lorenz
> >> Reel to Reel Drive In
> >> http://www.DavenportDriveIn.com
> >> 563-579-7046
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > QCLUG mailing list
> > QCLUG@qclug.org
> > http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug
> >
> > No virus found in this incoming message.
> > Checked by AVG.
> > Version: 8.0.100 / Virus Database: 269.23.16/1432 - Release Date:
> 5/14/2008
> > 7:49 AM
> >
> > _______________________________________________
> > QCLUG mailing list
> > QCLUG@qclug.org
> > http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug
> >
> _______________________________________________
> QCLUG mailing list
> QCLUG@qclug.org
> http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug
>
--
From:
Arron James Lorenz
Reel to Reel Drive In
http://www.DavenportDriveIn.com
563-579-7046
---------------------- multipart/alternative attachment
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://qclug.org/pipermail/qclug/attachments/37dc424f/attachment.htm
---------------------- multipart/alternative attachment--