Thanks guys, I don&#39;t want to disappoint but I actually did know that it was a crappy pop up website. I just enjoyed it... I was making a vague attempt at being funny by contrasting the win.32 pop up ads (if you look close it&#39;s telling me that I need to enable active-x support.) with the fact that I&#39;m running Ubuntu. Website&#39;s like that are the reason I have the computer over at my mom&#39;s house running Ubuntu also.<br>
<br>I can just hear the phone call... Arron the computer popped up and told me that it found a bunch of virus&#39; and I payed the $50 that it was asking for but it doesn&#39;t seem to work. Can you come and make the anti-virus program it just told me to buy work??<br>
<br>Well guys that&#39;s all for my jokes today.<br><br>Arron<br><br><div class="gmail_quote">On Wed, May 14, 2008 at 8:22 PM, Mark Riedesel &lt;<a href="mailto:mriedesel@gmail.com">mriedesel@gmail.com</a>&gt; wrote:<br><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="border-left: 1px solid rgb(204, 204, 204); margin: 0pt 0pt 0pt 0.8ex; padding-left: 1ex;">
Yeah, I visited the <a href="http://antivirus-scanner.com" target="_blank">antivirus-scanner.com</a> site and it did a neat<br>
little animated virus checker thing and then popped up a list of<br>
infections, then tried to coax me into downloading a neato exe file<br>
which is infected with..<br>
<br>
&nbsp;*drum roll*<br>
<br>
the Downloader.Win32.Fraudload virus!<br>
<br>
So, yes, definitely a site to avoid, and no, you&#39;re not infected with<br>
any viruses :-)<br>
<font color="#888888"><br>
<br>
Mark<br>
</font><div><div></div><div class="Wj3C7c"><br>
<br>
On Wed, May 14, 2008 at 7:28 PM, Aaron Johnson &lt;<a href="mailto:acjohnson@pcdomain.com">acjohnson@pcdomain.com</a>&gt; wrote:<br>
&gt; This just looks like a fake anti-virus pop-up. Nothing more...<br>
&gt;<br>
&gt;<br>
&gt; -----Original Message-----<br>
&gt; From: <a href="mailto:qclug-bounces@qclug.org">qclug-bounces@qclug.org</a> [mailto:<a href="mailto:qclug-bounces@qclug.org">qclug-bounces@qclug.org</a>] On Behalf Of<br>
&gt; Nick Miller<br>
&gt; Sent: Wednesday, May 14, 2008 6:21 PM<br>
&gt; To: <a href="mailto:qclug@qclug.org">qclug@qclug.org</a><br>
&gt; Subject: Re: [QCLUG] Virus in Ubuntu<br>
&gt;<br>
&gt; How were you able to use a Windows file scanner in Ubuntu? I guess I&#39;m<br>
&gt; just kind of confused on what exactly is going on. Plus, the virus file<br>
&gt; had &quot;Win32&quot; in it.<br>
&gt;<br>
&gt; Nick<br>
&gt;<br>
&gt; Arron Lorenz wrote:<br>
&gt;&gt; I accedently clicked a link I shouldn&#39;t have now I may have a virus....<br>
&gt;&gt;<br>
&gt;&gt; I took a screen shot:<br>
&gt;&gt; <a href="http://www.davenportdrivein.com/images/Screenshot.png" target="_blank">http://www.davenportdrivein.com/images/Screenshot.png</a><br>
&gt;&gt;<br>
&gt;&gt; What do you guys think I should do? &lt;mailto:<a href="mailto:qclug@qclug.org">qclug@qclug.org</a>&gt;<br>
&gt;&gt;<br>
&gt;&gt; Regards,<br>
&gt;&gt; Arron<br>
&gt;&gt;<br>
&gt;&gt; --<br>
&gt;&gt; From:<br>
&gt;&gt; Arron James Lorenz<br>
&gt;&gt; Reel to Reel Drive In<br>
&gt;&gt; <a href="http://www.DavenportDriveIn.com" target="_blank">http://www.DavenportDriveIn.com</a><br>
&gt;&gt; 563-579-7046<br>
&gt;<br>
&gt; _______________________________________________<br>
&gt; QCLUG mailing list<br>
&gt; <a href="mailto:QCLUG@qclug.org">QCLUG@qclug.org</a><br>
&gt; <a href="http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug" target="_blank">http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug</a><br>
&gt;<br>
&gt; No virus found in this incoming message.<br>
&gt; Checked by AVG.<br>
&gt; Version: 8.0.100 / Virus Database: 269.23.16/1432 - Release Date: 5/14/2008<br>
&gt; 7:49 AM<br>
&gt;<br>
&gt; _______________________________________________<br>
&gt; QCLUG mailing list<br>
&gt; <a href="mailto:QCLUG@qclug.org">QCLUG@qclug.org</a><br>
&gt; <a href="http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug" target="_blank">http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug</a><br>
&gt;<br>
_______________________________________________<br>
QCLUG mailing list<br>
<a href="mailto:QCLUG@qclug.org">QCLUG@qclug.org</a><br>
<a href="http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug" target="_blank">http://qclug.org/mailman/listinfo/qclug</a><br>
</div></div></blockquote></div><br><br clear="all"><br>-- <br>From:<br>Arron James Lorenz<br>Reel to Reel Drive In<br><a href="http://www.DavenportDriveIn.com">http://www.DavenportDriveIn.com</a><br>563-579-7046